TAG!! You’re it!

Image

I was tagged in a blog post by a fellow author, Frantiska Oliver. The challenge is to answer the following questions and then tag other authors. This is how authors play tag and, since I don’t run unless it is life threatening, this is my favorite version of Tag! You’re it!   

What are you working on right now?

At the moment I’m working on three different projects. The first, rewrites for the fourth book in the Serenity Series, Consequences. Since the release for the third book, Tribulations is right around the corner I want to continue Leah and Raine’s journey ASAP. Their story gets more and more interesting as time goes on. The second project happens to be a tie into the Serenity Series if only in part. Bittersweet revolves around a creature previously unknown to the supernatural world and will make it’s debut within the pages of book four. The third has turned into so much more than I thought it could when I started work on it. Heaven On Earth will be the first in a chronicle of angels who have been tasked with death. The Afterlife Chronicles will follow a corp of Reapers, Hunters, Seekers and Sentries as they ferry souls to face their fates.   

 

How do your stories differ from others in its genre?

I try to ground my characters in reality as much as I can. Even my vampires and werewolves have one foot in the human world and one in the supernatural. I want each one of them to appeal to the readers, maybe remind them of someone they know or even see certain qualities in themselves. Being able to touch (for lack of a better word) the heart of the characters is a gift. I love it when authors make me care about the characters they create. I can only hope I’m able to do the same for those who pick up my work.

Why do I write what I do?

Paranormal has always appealed to me. I love being able to play with myths and legends regarding different creatures and bend them into the characters I’ve always imagined them to be. There’s a certain amount of mystery surrounding them. Picking through the mystery and creating beings who have heart beats, feelings, agendas (be they good or bad) has been the most fulfilling thing I’ve done so far. Being published is awesome, don’t get me wrong, but without those amazing characters my stories are nothing.

How does the writing process work?

Most of the time it starts at night. I do my best writing when darkness falls and the house is quiet. No kids, no phone calls to field. No interruptions. I gather a cold can of Coke, my BIC Atlantis mechanical pencil, paper and my laptop and get to work.  

 

Now it’s my turn and I get tag three (there are more, but they have already been tagged) talented authors I highly respect respect and look up to. Jason McIntyre, Rebecca Hamilton, John Hardy Bell and guess what? “Tag you’re it!” 

Leave a Reply

